Closing Threads

When you finish processing a client’s thread, you need to close it. There are two ways a thread can be closed:

  1. Automatically when the specified period passes. This happens if:
    • The last message in the thread is sent by an agent, or if a client closes an unauthorized webchat.
    • The thread isn’t open in the chat area (when it is pending the client’s response) and the thread closure timeout has started.
    • The client doesn’t send any message before the timeout ends.
  2. Manually by an agent
    You can close a thread whenever you need to by pressing Alt + Q or clicking the Close thread button located in the thread operations menu.

    When you close a thread, edna checks who was the last one to send the message in it – a client or an agent. If there is an unanswered message from a client in the thread, we recommend that you do respond to it before closing it. The system throws you the following warning message:



    If the admin made it mandatory to assign tags to a thread before closing it, the Thread tags window appears when you close a thread. In this case, first press Alt + Q or click Close thread to assign tags and then do it once again to close the thread. However, if a thread times out, Chat Center ignores this setting.

Assigning Tags to Threads
Next Article Using Hotkeys
In this article